RSS

#LSSElectionSeries: Presidential Aspirant – Jones Ayuwo

24 Sep
#LSSElectionSeries: Presidential Aspirant – Jones Ayuwo

IMG-20150904-WA0010

every member of the LSS executive is vital and ….. cohesion as a unit spills into goodwill from the whole faculty and even the rest of the school…as shown by Tolulope Adetayo (swaggertols) and Seun Lari-Williams


So tell us your name/ introduce yourself
My name is Jones Romijaran Ayuwo. This is my fourth year answering ‘d law’ at home and I am vying for the apparently much coveted seat of LSS President. My nickname used to be Wayword, but Sabinus seems to have taken over.
What are your hobbies?
Reading classics, Movies, Writing, Photography and Football Manager in that order
Any posts held previously in the faculty?
Well, yes, a couple. I was senator in my 2nd year. In my 3rd year I was the PRO of Taslim Elias Students Chamber and of course I was also PRO of Tax Club. I am currently the Public Relations Officer of the Law Students Society..
Did you always nurse the ambition of becoming LSS President?
Honestly, no. In my 100level I remember in Eni Njoku, on my floor there were about 10 people who said they would become LSS President, it was funny. But I think it was my relationship with Seun Lari Williams and the brotherhood I shared with Swaggertols and Lanre Aturu in my 3rd year that naturally planted the seeds that have become my campaign for presidency.
What key changes do you plan to make?
First, an academic secretary would be appointed, as I have noticed that the reason tutorials die off is because there is no executive held solely accountable for things like that. LIM and the Trust Fund would be given optimum priority as well as if not Law.
What defect in the LSS do you see now that really needs to be remedied?
A lot, first and foremost is cohesion. Cohesion amongst the three arms of the LSS. Cohesion between the Lss and the other societies.
What was the turning point in your decision to run for LSS president?
Well, unfortunately for me, I didn’t have one moment of rhema, when the heavens opened and rays of light shone upon my face (laughs). If you start up one day and decide “I should become LSS President” then u won’t be ready for all administration requires. And if u start planning from Diploma or yr1 or 2 that you want to be president, you end up not being yourself and merely being a person who just does what would help the ambition later. For me it’s more of a process. For me it’s been about work and commitment and service, basically just getting involved and working with some of the greatest and the best… And now, it’s just the natural next step. Because honestly, not too many people are surprised that I’m running for president, but no one can objectively say that I’ve been gunning for the position for a while
B: What are your plans for student representation to the faculty/ student relations to the faculty in terms of course registration, faculty dues, faculty registration, result, etc.

J: Well, my plans for course registration are straight forward, with the Course Registration Aid Exercise, where we’ll supply internet connection for 3 weeks to 10 volunteers per class who’ll register every member of their class so course registration issues would be a thing of the past

As for results, I intend to have a result complaints committee, which would be made up of those students (we know them) who have this special relationship with lecturers, either of their own accord or because they are children of lecturers themselves, alongside class reps. This committee would easily present issues to the lecturers in question, either formally or informally but they’d get it done

 if the Lex Observer, for instance is sold for the price of meat pie and coke at the lounge, 500 copies would make 100, 000 naira and a proper launch of the magazine will make much more. Advert placements on the law society blog could also help

IMG-20150924-WA0006

B: What are your plans for chambers /societies and the problem of donor fatigue and any internally generated revenue plan?

J: Well, the LSS is only the senior sister to the other chambers and societies, not a monarch; however it is true that donor fatigue is a presently prevailing predicament. The first problem is that the societies seem to be in so much competition with one another that we have them trying to out-do each other and coupled with the Armada of LSS events, it’s just too much. In a semester, we have 12weeks and 11 chambers and associations including LSS- 1 program per chamber/society is going to be 10! In 12 weeks! And then you add LSS. Still some chambers have 2 or 3 events and Excos are made to run home to parents to get donations after donations. It’s unbecoming really, but it all stems from the over competitive set up we have. If I win, I’ll have to sit with whatever brilliant minds our students vote in their various societies and I’m certain we’ll come up with something (I hesitate to make declarations which involve other people like chambers)

As for internal generation of funds, I wasn’t really a fan of the pop corn idea, not because it wasn’t brilliant but because of the smell within the faculty of Law and other logistical issues, however if the Lex Observer, for instance is sold for the price of meat pie and coke at the lounge, 500 copies would make 100, 000 naira and a proper launch of the magazine will make much more. Advert placements on the law society blog could also help

I hope to leave a mark on the Law Society, yes you could say, leave a legacy, to spark resurgence amongst law students……..I can only do this by showing the disenchanted there are new possibilities

B: Any lessons learnt from working with or watching previous administrations?

J: In the chambers I learnt how to work with little resources. In Tax, I learnt leadership and how to manage when there a lot of money, as well as how to get major companies and firms and all sorts of corporate bodies interested in your plans. In the senate I learnt to respect procedures and to respect the law. In LSS, I learnt perseverance.And then from the previous LSS administrations, I learnt that every member of the LSS executive is vital and that cohesion as a unit spills into goodwill from the whole faculty and even the rest of the school…as shown by Tolulope Adetayo (swaggertols) and Seun Lari-Williams

IMG-20150924-WA0008

throughout the election period I’ve pretty much remained the same guy I’ve been since before the electoral bants commenced

B: What do you hope to see from your opponent in the election?

J: Fair play, maturity and some real innovation, because innovation seems to be the contagious phrase these days

B: If you lose, what should we expect / who do you consider your greatest opponent?

J: Well, if I lose, expect me to be a very hard working student in year 5 and my project will be mad…Lol but seriously, my ideas are all out there and in the eventuality that I don’t emerge as the President, I promise not to claim patent rights on these ideas

I think all my opponents are really strong and anyone can shock us really, some people are stronger in some classes than in others is all

B: You all seem to have the same ideas. What sets you apart from every other person?

J: We do not all have the same ideas, I believe I’m coming from a different, more logical and realistic angle. What stands me out would be that I have in the last 4 years even on this same blog shown that my creativity is not a mistake or a onetime thing. Therefore if I emerge, LSS would have one hell of an inventive govt. Plus, throughout the election period I’ve pretty much remained the same guy I’ve been since before the electoral bants commenced.

B: On a personal note, what do you hope to achieve by being LSS president?

J: I hope to leave a mark on the Law Society, yes you could say, leave a legacy, to spark resurgence amongst law students. It’s a pity everybody wants to disassociate themselves from LSS, but I can only do this by showing the disenchanted there are new possibilities. I could have stayed in Tax Club and I honestly would have been happy. But I want to leave a mark, to do something truly remarkable! A person with this sort of ambition is usually a safe bet (in my opinion)

B: What is a perfect day for you?

J: A lot of things can make a perfect day, but if at the end of the day I walk back to my room with a relaxed heart and a smile on my face, and if you-know-who is also happy, then I’m good to go.

B: Any strange obsessions?

J: I have a thing for rice and beans that was cooked the night before and warmed again in the morning… I don’t know if that qualifies

B: Who are your role models?

J: Well, I’m involved numerous aspects of life and so naturally my role models differ in each field; they could range from Charles Dickens to Thierry Henry. But the common denominator is that I learn from people who have shown a combination of brilliance in their skill and a certain class, panache or pizazz if you will.

B: Your mentor(s)?

J: Dr. Jones Ayuwo (his dad.) and Dr. Abiola Sanni

 
2 Comments

Posted by on September 24, 2015 in Interviews, Politics

 

Tags: , , , ,

2 responses to “#LSSElectionSeries: Presidential Aspirant – Jones Ayuwo

  1. master stonedroplets

    September 25, 2015 at 12:04 am

    This was a pretty long interview. But I guess that’s so when you have lots to say. Quantity dosnt always mean quality but there it is what it is.
    You are totally right that there are too many events in the faculty. Good observation theorem hardly room to breathe. Every day is one thing or the other. I do t agree with the smell of pop corn being a problem though. Anything but smell. Whoever complained about the smell of popcorn. If its smells we would talk about that of the food and toast and other such in the lounge. Me thinks there’s another issue at stake here Mr honest is not being so honest about. Also the new direction your campaign seems to be going, all honest, down to earth, realistic, pointing out problems, I don’t think that’s the best innovation you have come up with. Seems to me like a losing strategy. Like a way of being different just for the sake of being different and not because its the better way. I think the people need to hear not just about the impossibilities but how they can be surmounted. But what do I know? Good luck to you man.

    Like

     
    • Romijaran

      September 25, 2015 at 7:17 am

      Thank you, but let’s not spoil the fun, that’s what the manifesto on tuesday is for.

      Like

       

Leave a Reply

 
