RSS

Shattered

13 Feb

By Mayowa Folami

I had spent hours rehearsing that moment
I was going to bare my heart to him
Knowing that it will leave me naked
And my imperfection bare
As I spoke my first words to him
He turned to reply
But what came out from his mouth
Was her name;  the other woman
I broke
I told myself I was strong
But my body failed me
Like a sudden rainfall my tears fell
I was shattered; I didn’t listen
He tried to explain
But I was deaf
I turned away
He cannot see me like this
Her cries ripped my heart apart
The heart she no longer had
Her sobs course through my veins
Leaving a permanent ache in my bones
I can do nothing but stare as she hunches against the wall
Knowing no matter what I said
She’d not notice
So I turn to walk away
Her cries the beat to every step I take
Because no words could even begin to explain
That it was only her face I saw
As I cried out a strange woman’s name

 
3 Comments

Posted by on February 13, 2016 in Literature/Writing

 

Tags: , , ,

3 responses to “Shattered

  1. Fatiha Olabisi

    February 13, 2016 at 8:49 am

    Niiice. This is pretty amazing. Great work.

    Like

     
  2. Damola

    February 13, 2016 at 9:15 am

    Really nice. 👏👏👏

    Like

     
  3. bruce kent

    February 13, 2016 at 2:22 pm

    awwwwn.no valentine for both of them sha

    Like

     

Leave a Reply

 
