RSS

BEFORE YOU FORGET LAW’S GOT TALENT 4.0 IN A HURRY

26 Apr
BEFORE YOU FORGET LAW’S GOT TALENT 4.0 IN A HURRY

Honestly, apart from the fact that I’m easily excitable, this is more than beautiful. Despite the derogatory gossip and write-ups, Law’s Got Talent 4.0 and Fashion Show was a “hit back to back”. I enjoyed and savored every moment (Okay, I even had an opportunity to talk to my crush, don’t be curious). I guess the di-minute publicity meant a lot. It got every room in my hostel talking about the fifty naira barbecue and punch. Law can like to burst my brain (even though I didn’t get to eat the BBQ). In case you don’t know, there were over three thousand students hosted in Unilag Main Auditorium on the 18th of March, without any main celebrity like Olamide or Wizkid, not even the Jagaban that is close to us here, being part of the publicity. Yes it has been a while since the event passed, but a good review of something that big can never come late.

The programme was set in such a way that everyone, most especially I, forgot that there was a competition. It was like another type of edutainment.
The talents showcased were Decoration, singing , poem recitation, dancing, rapping etc. The contestants had three minutes each to show what they had.
There were three girls called Angelic Voices with their Ankara peplum blouses who came to do justice to some songs in their little way without any musical instrument. When the first of the girls came out, I actually thought the fashion show was about to begin. Then, the decorator did her valentine looking decor….. Then, Dotun presented a poem. We also had the robotic dancer, Chima and one Star Man the “local rappers”. We had Tolu and Joy who came to sing a duet which comprised of so many songs. There was Sharon who proved to be another Adele and sang, “Hello”, almost perfectly. Grace also came up to sing beautifully and so did the white and beautiful Priscilla… Those songs actually touched me(I died).

Really can’t apologize to you if you weren’t there, because I just found out I cannot report it well enough. It was beautiful.
The fashion show was lit. We had different designers display their designs, both in clothes and foot wears.
Then came the Cymbal Dance crew and gave some serious M. J moves (and I was like, wow!).
Acapella, the comedian who came last year(well, if you were there) also came and cracked ribs.
There was an upcoming comedian(Osho).. Oh! I forgot to add that Akin Faminu was there.. In case you’ve been dreaming of meeting him, you missed an opportunity.
There was also Drama from some year 4 students and it was funny. I wish I could summarize it.. I only wish..

THE WINNERS
Tolu and Joy – 1st
Sharon – 2nd
Priscilla – 3rd

A round of applause for our 1st runner up, Sharon. Your face, your expression, your voice, perfect. Even though your performance of Adele’s Hello only almost hit the spot, your second performance of ‘Emeli Sanders- Read all about it’ threw us off. High five!
Now, a standing ovation for Joy and Tolu. Your voices, the creativity, the combination of songs, were just it. You blew our minds. You guys are worth every bit of it. Collect fist-bump!

BUT WAIT FIRST!!!

> WHAT HAPPENED THAT DAY?
I’ve got my mind made up that I will not say too much. It was a big whao! in a
surprise package, Kudos to the Resurgence Team.
I just have few questions to ask.
Why did the program start too early? I mean, it started just toooooo early, but thank God for that girl, please who was the girl that sang ‘Where you begin? Well, she did more than ‘try’…kudos!
The MC made my day, apart from some things he was doing which was not funny at all. And ‘Tolu and that Afro winner’, I guess it was not only ‘me’ that thought you guys were going to kiss.
Weldone Dotun, Sope, Yetunde, Grace, ”Tolu and joy”. Priscilla, Ayo, Chima ….remind me of other talented participants.
Please, tell ‘Osho’ not to start a comedy scene with that mood again….See ‘age factor’ , I was ready to laugh until… ‘please who laughed while he was speaking’? I guess I laughed while he was singing though.
And to that guy who collected two fridges, ‘where is my own share’?
How many people noticed that Priscillia was awesome? I mean she’s got this voice!! When she started with ‘Ino dey denge….”…that was more than awesome.
But then, those twins were unique; ”Two heads are better than one” ,they say. That song was really for them: ‘Pray for me’.
Grace sang ‘popular songs’ , I guess that saved her a lot, nice voice you got there.

The first 3 girls, “The Minstrels”. I think they’re year 1 or 2 students. They wore the same Ankara top and black jeans. Their song was really nice and they put they put a lot of practice into it but we always forget that there are some spiritual ingredients that roam, not only at night, but also during the day. The microphone didn’t function well and their very beautiful song was mutated. I really admire their courage because they came out first, even though they were supposed to come out 5th. They didn’t make it to second round but we all admit that they tried.
Now, Shope, contestant 2, came up and said she would do a cloth decoration for 3 mins. Believe me, and I think we should all admit this, I was expecting something that would blow my mind. But what on earth? She had already arranged the red and white cloth. The only thing she did was to divide the cloth into 2 and nail it to the board. My baby cousin could do that in 30seconds. What did she take us for? Mumus? That was fraud. Was she trying to dupe us? Plz don’t try that next time, it got everybody pissed.
Then, Dotun, Ok, I love spoken poetry but what happened? She came up to offer spoken
words. I think she wrote a poem and decided to recite it to us. Spoken words! Her hit line was ‘the night is dark and full of terror’. Our fine law student didn’t even put emotion into the terror poem. What blew my head was when I heard ‘f*** your mother’s mother’. What?!!! You didn’t make it to the next stage, I’m sorry… But I loved your energy.
Onto another perlzon…
Mr. Star Show, I couldn’t believe it when they told me he’s a 400l student, I thought he was in year 1 oh! The name of his song was ‘Ibile Lawon L’eyii. “twale! twale!! twale!!!, Iyalaya anybody!!!!”… and that’s how my nigga removed his shirt. I was scared o! Something went wrong somewhere in this case, let’s admit. Kunbi said YBNL would accept him, I’m speechless! I know it’s wrong, but I was happy when people shouted ‘Gbera!!!’.
I hope we remember Yetunde that danced to ‘Rihanna’s Work’. I know you will all remember; nice abs; nice hips; nice body. But it didn’t ‘work’ for the judges o! She tried sha but didn’t impress us enough. Try better next time; I think you can make it next year.
Okay now, Ayo, the one with the guitar. I agree with Kunbi, the ones from your village didn’t meet you on the stage; they were following you since morning. Before that one first, you know you don’t have voice like that, and you decided to perform ‘The Hills’ by ‘The Weekend’. What is your strezz? Are you Chris Brown or Drake? You can’t just get away with something like this nao. Do the one that your voice can carry, you hear?
And so, this brings us to our brother that took us from 100 to 0, real quick. Chima, with your dancing steps, you are going places. See, you had 100% audience approval in your first performance. But did you forget that you had just 3 mins to spend? You were nao using us to change cloth. You should have just joined the models for the fashion show instead. Then your enemies took the light! Only if you were time conscious, you’d have been the winner. I’m disappointed *sobs*
Oh! sister Grace, what happened? You were perfect in your first performance. Bet why? Why did you go off point in your tone during your second performance? You could have killed it but you didn’t, that’s all.
Drum rolls for our 2nd runner up, Priscilla. Your black dress, your light skin complexion, and your voice was perfect. Even though the microphone tried to stop you, you killed both songs. Congrats!
A round of applause for our 1st runner up, Sharon. Your face, your expression, your voice, perfect. Even though your performance of Adele’s Hello only almost hit the spot, your second performance of ‘Emeli Sanders- Read all about it’ threw us off. High five!
Now, a standing ovation for Joy and Tolu. Your voices, the creativity, the combination of songs, were just it. You blew our minds. You guys are worth every bit of it. Collect fist-bump!
You guys were all wonderful.

PERFORMANCES
DJ Bass
MC Acapella
Osho- comedian
Performance of “Like I’m gonna lose you- Meghan Trainor” by Ken & Wura. It was perfect.
Cymballs Dance Group
Funny Audition by year 4 students- Pelumi, Kunle, Bafewa, Dennis, Folarin, Dominic, Samad, Bukola, Hosanna,
Intra-faculty Dance Competition
Performance by Ritchie Banks
Inter faculty Dance Competition- Bus. Ad (Juliet), Law (Olamide), Arts (King), Education (Mr. Versatile), MediLag, Sciences; Bus. Ad (Juliet) won.
Performance by Koker, yeah Koker, from Chocolate City!

FASHION SHOW
Adebola
Sandals by Ziza
Carl Cobaine

Lest I forget, there was a raffle draw!
Lots of gifts were won.
Thanks to Michelle Hair!

Then, the BBQ…. This proved to me that Akokites like “awuf”. The whole school was at SUB that I couldn’t even walk without seeing someone familiar.

I think the summary of Law’s Got Talent 4.0 and Fashion Show is that it was unexplainable. Don’t miss the next edition… It’s 5.0, so come and have a standard Grade Point.

Photo Credit: -Sam Dele Photography-

Photo Splash!!! Please enjoy…

image

image

image

image

image

image

image

image

image

image

image

image

image

image

image

image

image

image

image

image

image

image

image

image

image

image

image

image

image

image

image

image

image

image

image

image

image

image

image

image

IMG 20160109 233335 Isola Bunmi of the Class of “17 describes herself as a born critic, who finds satisfaction in humor and sarcasm. Her imagination is what keeps her pen moving. When she stops thinking, she stops writing.
biography Ikeoluwa Adetona is a prolific writer and a very inquisitive reader. A member of the class of “18, she is presently the welfare secretary of the Federation of Oyo State Student Union” (2014/15).
She lives in Oyo State.
IMG 20160119 154355 Alajogun Ayomide Arinola. Law Class of ’19. She loves to hang out and write, and particularly enjoys writing non-fictional poems and true life events. She loves people!

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on April 26, 2016 in News and Events

 

Tags: , , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

 
