RSS

SUPREME and ETSE and TOBI…and THE BLOG…and YOU…

06 Sep

Hello, Law Student. This semester, the three people whose names are contained in the title of this article have come to your attention, in one way or the other, don’t lie. The other two names in the title are US and YOU. And each of the people in it have their parts to play in today’s article. Here they are:

Tobi wants you to vote for him. 

Supreme wants you to vote for him. 

Etse wants you to vote for her. 

We want you to read the interviews we had with each of them. 

You… You can do whatever you want after that. 

So… The LSS BLOG SITS WITH EACH OF THE PRESIDENTIAL CANDIDATES TO GET TO KNOW MORE ABOUT WHY THEY HAVE BEEN SENDING US BC’S AND GETTING ALL FRIENDLY WITH US… 

WE ASKED EACH OF THEM A SERIES OF QUESTIONS, AND WE GIVE YOU THEIR ANSWERS 

SUPREME:

 Tell us about yourself.

My name is Unukegwo Supreme.  A  400 level faculty of law student. I am a Christian. I’m the last child of my family, I’ve three elder siblings. I’m from delta state.

 Are you really running for LSS presidency?

Yes. I’d be running for the post of the presidency in the oncoming elections.

Why did you decide to run? 

Running for presidency wasn’t something I saw a year before or two years before. It isn’t something I planned but I’ve seen what is going on in the faculty for the past four years and I believe we aren’t focusing on the right things. We aren’t working on things that would help students in the long run. We are presently focusing on certain programmes, which are quite good no doubt, but there are better ways of helping law students and putting them on the path to success.

 When did you decide to run?

Supreme; I decided to run in 400l first semester, middle of the semester. That was when I knew I had to run.

 What is your hashtag, and what does it signify?

My hash tag is SWD and it signifies Sustainability, Welfare and Difference. Previous presidential aspirants usually come up with words they think would encompass their goals. My hash tag is an abbreviation containing three alphabets which are the major things I’d focus on during my tenure. S- On sustainability, I intend sustaining previous ideas that have been able to make positive impacts on law students in general and of course the sanctity of the three arms of government as provided for by the constitution of the LSS. W- The welfare bit is multifaceted. Ranging from academic welfare to social welfare. I’d also provide internships programmes, scholarships and various other opportunities. And of course there would be clinical legal education. D- Stands for difference. This encompasses the new ideas and innovations I’d bring into the LSS.

What sets you apart from  the other candidates?

I’m coming with a drive and passion that’d actually improve all law students in general and I am not coming to focus on specific groups. My manifesto and plans can touch everyone and impact them beneficially at the end of the year.

Who do you think is your biggest competition?

I respect both and they both pose a great threat. They are both capable in their own rights and I respect their efforts.

What do you think are your chances of winning?

My chances of winning are very good because most people have looked beyond the fact that I haven’t been in the LSS and seen how practicable my ideas are and the need for the LSS to focus on the ideas I’m proposing.

What IF you don’t win?

If I don’t win, next year I would offer my ideas to the administration that would come into power for them to implement the ones they feel are necessary. And of course I’d continue mentoring students within the faculty and helping to improve their grades.

What message do you have for law students? 

I want every law student, irrespective of whoever they decide to vote, to at least lend me an ear and give me an opportunity to share my plans. And please, feel free to ask me questions on the things I’m proposing. And if you believe my ideas are great then give me the necessary support because I can’t do it without you.

TOBI:

TOBI OLOWOKURE, tell us about yourself.

Ok, so Tobi has been wearing white and black for the past 3 years, a devout Christian from Osun. I believe in stewardship and service to others. I am also very passionate about the things I get involved in and I am a bit shy, contrary to popular belief. I am a lover of football and rap and also the LSS.

Are you really running for the office of LSS President?

Yes, I am.

When and why did you decide to run for the office of the President of the LSS?

Truth be told, a lot of people don’t believe when I say this, but I didn’t decide on whether or not to run for office until a few months ago. As at the end of my second year, I still believed it would be someone like Bernard or Gabriel or Ibrahim, no not Ibrahim, never me. But when I became the A.S.G., and then Secretary General, my love for the LSS culminated and because of the fact that I belive that I am the best person for the job, not just because of any skills or qualities I might have, but because I’ve seen the mistakes of past executives and I believe that nobody else is in a better position to serve. Also people I look up to have been encouraging me and so I decided in the first semester of my 400 level.

Your hashtag is ‘EVOLVE’, what does it mean?

The LSS has a way it has been operating and ‘evolve’ means that we could just continue doing things the way we have been doing them but, if we continue doing the same things we will keep getting the same results. I don’t think that the LSS has been able to impact in as many people’s lives as it should. Not many law students can look to the LSS and say ‘thank you’. The only way to change this is to ‘evolve’ the way we operate. Not by scrapping already existing ideals but improving them. So I’m going to take the structures the LSS already has in place and make them better.

What do you think gives you an edge over the other candidates?

My experience. I have been an executive of the LSS long enough to have worked with a female P.R.O., a male P.R.O., a female Sports Sec., a male Sports Sec. I know what it is like to be an assistant, I know what it is like to be a secretary. I have worked under Wale and Cornel, two totally different individuals and I have learnt so many lessons from them. So, assuming all the candidates have equal capabilities and strngths, I am already 2 steps ahead of them. I know basically everything about the LSS and I have a proven track record of handling big projects by myself. These and many more give me a slight advantage.

Who do you think is your biggest competition?

I think both of them are competition because they appeal to different demographics of people and it will be hard to predict until the last vote is cast.

What would you honestly say are your current chances of winning?

I’ve always lived my whole life by the fact that God rewards diligence. I believe that my chances are alive, I wouldn’t participate if I was very sure of losing. By God’s grace, I will win.

What if you don’t win?

I hope, pray and believe that by God’s grace I will win. I do not expect to lose. But if, in the very hypothetical situation, I do lose, I will recede into myself. There’s no claiming copyright over the plans I have already released. I will do whatever I can, in my own capacity, to help law students, much in the way I’ve already been doing with the Microphone, with Jones Ayuwo. And then maybe I’ll be a little more serious with my books.

What message do you have for law students?

They should believe in themselves because you always hear more about what you cannot do than what you can. Its about time that you start hearing about what you can do which is achieve every single thing that you want to. Stop listening to people who talk negatively because they are only talking from their own experience.

ETSE:

Please can you tell us about yourself?

My name is Sarah Etseghena Anaedevha. I’m in 400 level. I like helping people and generally making people happy.

Are you really running for the office of President of the Law Students’ Society?

Yes, I am running for the post of President of the LSS.

Why did you decide to run?

I decided to run because I want to help a larger amount of people in becoming better than they are right now. Things could be done differently in the faculty and I’ve realized that if you keep waiting for people to do things for you, you will never get anything done.

When did you decide to run?

I’ve always had it in mind to run, but I was skeptical about my sex. I made up my mind to run for the office in May 2016.

What is your hash tag and what does it signify?

My hash tag is #Advance and I’m using that in a bid to make the LSS better than it is currently.

What do you think sets you apart from the other candidates?

I’m a smart person and I want to serve. My personality sets me apart- I’m focused and I have integrity. I would not go back on my words.

Who do you think is your biggest competition?

An election is not a competition.

What would you honestly say are your current chances of winning?

I’ve spoken to quite a number of people who buy into my ideas. The idea of having people vote for you only shows that more people bought into your idea. I just have to talk to more people, so yes; I have a good chance of winning.

What if you don’t win?

Partaking in an election already makes you a winner. Like I said, the idea of having people vote for you only shows that more people bought your idea.

What message do you have for law students?

Look beyond the school environment and try to develop yourself. Always try your best to develop yourself and your community.

And so they’ve talked, we’ve shown, you’ve read …

Mind made yet? 

 
7 Comments

Posted by on September 6, 2016 in From Us

 

Tags: , , ,

7 responses to “SUPREME and ETSE and TOBI…and THE BLOG…and YOU…

  1. TeamEtse

    September 6, 2016 at 10:58 pm

    There’s more to Etse than meets the eye. I am interested in what plans she has because her decision to run in the first place still amazes me. I think she has awesome plans for the faculty; achievable plans. She looks like someone I can trust. I was never always a fan, but I’m curious. I want to see what this woman can do. Go girl! Go Etse!

    Like

     
  2. L.L

    September 6, 2016 at 11:28 pm

    I am interested in who you really are.
    oh forgive me, its obvious… And your “name” isn’t even the giveaway.

    Liked by 1 person

     
  3. Rolly

    September 7, 2016 at 7:55 am

    Supreme is more than qualified. He has it all put together for this post.

    Like

     
  4. Author Pendragon

    September 7, 2016 at 8:19 am

    Just look at how Etse killed the interview. She appears to know what she’s about. M impressed.

    Like

     
    • Tayowinho

      September 9, 2016 at 7:49 am

      Donald, I’m afraid for the first time in 4 years this blog is existing, I find myself agreeing with you. Maybe cos both of us have seen/heard plenty of electoral yanx to be hoodwinked by the normal cliches. This lady sounds quite different…I do hope her decision (whether or not she wins) will strengthen the resolve of fellow female students in the faculty.

      Like

       
  5. Unique

    September 7, 2016 at 9:26 am

    I love Etse already! I just have this really strong conviction this lady would deliver. All the best girl!

    Like

     
  6. Tayowinho

    September 9, 2016 at 7:45 am

    Wow …Etse’s interview is quite powerful. When people take part in politics….to participate is as important as winning… Cos when you participate, you raise issues…..When you raise issues, the issues becomes serious….nd When they become serious, you take a position.

    It is never a competition.

    Like

     

Leave a Reply

 
