RSS

WHAT DO YOU EXPECT FROM THE INCOMING ADMINISTRATION? AND WHAT ARE YOUR PLANS FOR THE NEXT SESSION? HOLIDAY VOX POP

08 Nov

Hey there! For many different reasons, it’s been a while. Save for the exam jacking, politics and elections, faculty stress, and what have you, 2016 has been a great year! The curtains have been drawn on the Resurgence Administration, and it has been a great ride. Bumpy, but still great. 
In this edition, we bring you intriguing topics in a pair. As usual, respondents ranged from incoming hyper year twos, indifferent year threes, ‘just-there’ year fours, aaaaand ‘already-thinking-about-law-school’ but happy year fives.

First, the baton has been passed from RESURGENCE to SWD. What do you expect from this incoming administration?

“For the fruits of their tree to be asserted.” -Ted.

“I expect a better coordinated LSS, in terms of the execution of their duties and plans. The last admin failed in terms of organising and coordinating its aactivities like law dinner. Students welfare is basically zero in the faculty; the lounge is a good start. Also, a better trust fund for indigent students going to law school. The LSS should be more transparent and accountable; there were various reports of misappropriation of funds in the last administration. We as students should be better intimated on how the LSS is run.” -Emmanuel.

“I just expect them to deliver as promised.” -Sonia.

“Fix our lounge! It’s in dire need of development. Fine, it can’t evolve, but at least let it develop. I must not hear them organizing tutorials. The lounge is depressing.” -Folarin.

“Work on those areas the former admin was lacking and stick to their manifesto as well. Most importantly, they should have the students at heart; the faculty at heart please I beg them.” -Makua

“Really, just improvements.I know that there are obvious differences in the faculty but I expect unity. Impact over ceremony. Better events and a lasting impression, with or without 15million. Sustainability. Welfare. Difference. That’s all.” -‘Meen.

“A bouncing baby boy. Or an epoch decision. Truly; maintaining the status quo.” -Mubarak.

“No high hopes. The administration plans seem like castles in the sky. I’d be happy if they are accomplished although I seriously doubt that. However would like to see how SWD would improve the brand of the awesome law student and mighty law faculty which has suffered hits from past administration.” -Michael.

“Good food at law dinner. More internship slots.” -David.

“I expect them to cater for the welfare of students, not only academically with tutorials and the likes, but all round: sports, psychologically, spiritually. During election season, a lot of promises are made, I’m hoping this year, the promises are actualized.” -Lanre.

“I expect them to recognize young entrepreneurs in the faculty and give them awards, like fashion designers of the year, photographer of the year, models, makeup artists and stuff like that.” -Akin.

Well said well said.

On to the next one. The year is coming to an end. What are your plans and projections for the coming year? Man proposes, God disposes. But this does not stop law students from sketching those plans at least.

“The goal for next session will always be the goal to evolve. Year 2 was a breeze and they say the higher, the cooler. So more effort sha. Also, to make Oil and Gas Bar at the top of the food chain. Like it or not, oil is the present and future. And finally, to meet a girl that’ll motivate me to be a better person, and I’ll fall absolutely in love with.”

“I am working on private projects which would be made known to the public at the right time. And considering the fact that I do not think that the current administration would satisfy my needs as a law student, I would be very distant from faculty activities I have no interest in.”

“I plan to increase my CGPA, do more school work, and stay out of faculty activities.”

“I want an easy ride next session.”

“Going for Senate. Would start timing myself right from week 3 for exams. I seem to be fairly good writing stories. I wonder if i can make something of it. New agenda; outspoken introvert.”

“I can’t really say yet. But I plan to renovate myself and my business basically.”

“I want to do professional courses, second half of the year. ACCA, Citn, maybe. Then read and pass land law and equity and all others very well.”

Well said well said. That’s all on this edition. Do well to drop your comments below. Happy holidays!
Peace.

From Taiwo Famakinde’s desk

For the Blog 

Published by William-Adusa Hosanna and Great Gatsby, sorry, Opara

 
1 Comment

Posted by on November 8, 2016 in From Us, Opinion, Our Students

 

Tags: , , ,

One response to “WHAT DO YOU EXPECT FROM THE INCOMING ADMINISTRATION? AND WHAT ARE YOUR PLANS FOR THE NEXT SESSION? HOLIDAY VOX POP

  1. The Law Students Blog

    November 8, 2016 at 8:48 pm

    We naturally could not get the opinions of everyone, so would like for readers to drop their thoughts in the comments section.

    Like

     

Leave a Reply

 
