RSS

CHICKEN SOUP FOR THE COUNTRY SOUL – REVIEW

23 Feb

Chicken Soup For Country Soul
Disclaimer – This is not a cook book!

You know, just like every other teenage soul, I had no interest in books like Chicken Soup For The Soul. Trust me.
However, two years ago, I got about eight classics, at the same time; Zig Ziglar, Jack Canfield, Myles Monroe, Napoleon Hill and others. My journey started.
My relationship with Chicken Soup For The Soul, however, started in 2016, long after I read Jack Canfield’s ‘How To Get From Where You Are To Where You Want To Be’. Jack is blunt and that’s a good thing. I got a spin off of Chicken Soup For The Soul, it’s anniversary edition containing stories from literally all the Chicken Soup books and I couldn’t wait to read more.
This week, I read Chicken Soup For The Country Soul and its a must-read for everyone.
My reviews are a bit informal but enjoy!.
*********************************
Chicken Soup For The Country Soul.
Chicken Soup For The Soul Books.
Jack Canfield, Mark Victor Hansen, Rom Camacho.
1998.
Inspirational/Motivational Book.

CSFTCS is a collection of short stories revolving around the American country music industry, Nashville; it’s stars; their fans and life, in general. Now, these stories may be centred about country music but it’s more than that. It’s life, in a closer look.
There are stories on Love and Kindness, On Family, The Power of Faith, Living The Dream, Overcoming Obstacles and Hardships and The Power of A Song.
Some stories made me reflect, some made me cry, others made me want to never stop dreaming and some made me belly-out with laughter.
The book is divided into six sections, with each having a number of stories. On Love And Kindness contained stories of giving, impacting kindness and love. On Family contained stories of a father’s love, the power of family, the love of a wife, loss and so on. The Power Of Faith was that section that taught me to keep on believing! Living The Dream contained stories of struggle, trying to make it in the music business and in life, dreaming big and never giving up. Overcoming Obstacles and Hardships was the reminder that tough times never last but tough people do! The Power Of A Song was the perfect never-ending end to stories that are more than stories. It was the reality that songs should be more than songs. Music should heal, should have a message and it can, it already has!
It’s amazing that some of these stories are true stories. Some, fiction but not any less mind-blowing.
As my friend, Rafiat once said, ‘So many words’. But, now, these are so many words of impact, imprinting impact.
You know, reading about all these stars in the papers, watching them on Tv, they look so high up there. In a way, reading this book, reading their stories, by them and by others deeply humanises them, at least for me. Dolly Parton wrote ‘I Will Always Love You’. I sincerely never knew until I read this. I’ve always known Whitney Houston for the song. In her story, she describes her encounter with a fan whose life was changed by the song. The Power Of A Song.
Stories like Teddy Bear, The Frog Finally Got Its Wings, God bless the U.S.A, A Special Gift will never leave me.
I can say for a fact that I have learnt so much. From reading a book, yes. It’s funny how some things just really get to you.
I think I started getting the whole inspiration vibe, from the Acknowledgment segment of the book.
(Yes, I actually read The Preface)
The words the authors wrote.
That’s all I have to say.

One of my favourite things about the book is the little quotes above each story. Here’s my favourite one!
Your talent is God’s gift to you. How you use it is your gift to God.
– Country Saying.

Chicken Soup For The Country Soul is an excellent read, with great content and great writing. Each story, distinct, yet has a connective bond with the next. It’s refreshing. It was written in 1998, almost twenty years ago. Yet, reading it in 2017, it still works! It’s a timeless piece.
I highly recommend the other Chicken Soup For The Soul books as well as ‘How To Get From Where You Are To Where You Want To Be’ by Jack Canfield.
You’ll love them!

Rating – A

Review by Titilope Adedokun

Published by Great Opara

 
 

Tags: , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

 
