RSS

CAMOUFLAGE

07 Mar

Few weeks ago, I saw a horrifying, vile and absolutely disgusting video on Instagram. In it, uniformed military men were flogging someone for wearing camouflage. That’s not new, right? 

He was disabled. On the floor. Using one of those floor crutches, the ones that look like low-key skate boards.
And they beat him, black, blue, red and yellow. They beat him like he stole. They dragged him, every disabled inch of him. They flogged him with belts and whips. They didn’t stop for a good minute or so.
 
He was disabled.
In the middle of a market.
Obviously less privileged.
Definitely wearing the camouflage out of necessity, not want.
They didn’t care.

It beats me how those who swore to protect the integrity of our nation don’t even have integrity. I’ve never understood the camouflage drama and I never will. If you do, please explain it to me. Maybe, it would start to actually make sense. 
Perhaps, fighting off terrorists have made them terrorists themselves. Its probably a thing that after being in the jungle for so long, some animalistic tendencies suffice. But, what do I really know? 

You know, I saw a really crap picture of them, in the aftermath. The soldiers and the victim, now in a wheel chair. They were smiling and I laughed. I laughed till my sides hurt. I was happy for him, I mean I am. But what happens to the other victims who get beaten to a pulp every day, just because of camouflage? Those who have no videos to fight for them and social media influencers to raise alarm? The ones who don’t trend on Instagram? What happens to them? 

Use the comment button. What’s your take on this? What are your camouflage stories? 

Written By Titilope Adedokun

Published By Great Opara

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on March 7, 2017 in Opinion

 

Tags: , ,

Leave a Reply

 
