RSS

A MERRY VILLAGE CHRISTMAS, PART TWO

25 Mar

Part two of the series

You know how the lead actors and actresses run away from danger in the movies? The calm, collected, calculated demeanor, the wind lifting their gorgeous hair around, the way they jump over obstacles. Yeah? Well, this was nothing like that.
First of all, I wasn’t calm. My brother or sister, I was screaming at the top of my lungs. Screaming very loudly. Very very loudly. Secondly, I wasn’t jumping over obstacles. I was jumping into them. You see, till you enter the maze that is a village forest, you cannot understand. Clumps of thick soil, branches of dead trees, long vines (even the spirits needed their wine) and the occasional animal littered the place. Thirdly, I don’t have long hair.

I also didn’t know where I was going. I had realised this immediately I entered the bush. I couldn’t turn back anyways. Unless I wanted to walk into the masquerades. And that wasn’t happening. So I forged on. And on. And on. Deeper and deeper into the thick forest.
The most annoying thing was that through all this, I could hear my attackers behind me in slow, confident, measured footsteps. This was their turf, their home. They were taking their time. Sooner or later, I’ll fumble. Tears flowed down my face as I begged God for forgiveness for all of my sins. For kissing Bukky after church service on Sunday, for all the pieces of meat I had appropriated. For all the times I inflated textbook prices. All of this while thinking of a means of escape.

Then it hit me. Not a bright idea on how to escape the masquerades but a really strong stone. I crumpled to the ground. As my eyes closed, I saw my attackers circling me.
Save me Lord Jesus.

Written By Joshua Nwabuikwu

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on March 25, 2017 in Uncategorized

 

Tags: , ,

Leave a Reply

 
